James Edward Gaubert – The Artist!


Ok, so for those of you who dont know who I am, thought i’d give you a bit of a bio on my artisty talents! I’m in the process of building a website to showcase some of my work but in the meantime here you go…..

Born in 1979 James Edward Gaubert has always lived in Reading, Berkshire.  Whilst he studied Art and Photography at school his skill and passion for this was consequently put on a back burner whilst he pursued a 12 year career in Marketing. Having said that, his career choice did ensure he always had one toe dipped in the creative pond.

It wasn’t however until the beginning of 2011, when James really re-ignited his creative and artistic talents during what can only be described as a very emotional time in his life.

During this period James found real escapism and expressionism through his artwork that also provided him with a therapeutic channel for reflection and re-evaluation, almost helping to start a new journey.

James has worked with many medium including acrylics, oil and watercolours. However, his core work is all done using simple black on white inks. This is demonstrated in the images that are presented here.

From a style perspective James is considered to be a modern contemporary artist focussing on current images of the here and now, injecting his own comic/pop/art deco type influence. When describing his artwork he explains that:

“My style is what I like to call Bachelor Art, the type of work that you would expect to see hanging in a modern day bachelor’s penthouse apartment, surrounded by hi-tech gadgets and minimalist furniture. Although having said that the majority of people who have bought my artwork to-date have in fact been what I would class as ‘modern 21st century women’, I guess my work actually has much wider appeal”

~ by James Gaubert on June 24, 2011.

Leave a comment